Live by Night Hollywood Noir?

live_by_night_film

Got to admit that I’m stoked—this morning—after seeing the commercial on television last night for the soon-to-be-released movie…Live by Night. This one looks like 1920’s, 1930’s crime and I’m on it.

I don’t know why and I can’t explain it, but I’ve always dug the Hell out of the old school gangster stuff, Al Capone, the Untouchables, Bonnie & Clyde and the like. It’s an era long gone and I would have loved to been there, if only for a time. Come on, bathtub gin, Tommy guns, pin stripped suits and the gals dolled up and dressed to the nines.

Anyway…the screenplay looks to be written by Ben Affleck and he is credited with directing the flick also. If you know me, you know that I’m not a big movie goer, but it’s great to see Hollywood giving a little time to the genre and the kind of crap that I write.

You writers know what I’m talking about here…you write romance, but Hollywood is putting out blockbuster SCI-FI or you write westerns and the big screen is loaded with steamy romance or you have a crime novel out and Tinsel town is focusing on remakes of westerns that our parents watched?

WTF, right?

51iahjrowl-_sx331_bo1204203200_going-back-to-dallas-001

Now I’m not expecting to see the sales of my two novella’s Meet Me in Tulsa or Going Back to Dallas skyrocket or the short Due to a Dame (in the Dead Guns Press noir anthology Dames & Sin) for that matter, but at least I know that if Hollywood if giving the genre at least the time of day, maybe someone is reading the stuff also?

Dead Guns Press

Kate Pilarcik should be excited as she has her Damp Fedora out also and it’s a great story by the way.

cover-pilarcik-damp-fedora-300x450px-1

I don’t know about you, but I plan to watch this one and of course I’ll be gauging the quality of my stories by what I see on the silver screen. Either way, I’ll continue to churn out stories from the era and am presently working on a 1930’s sort of Private Eye story that may see the light of day in a year or two?

Leave a Reply

