Free from 10th Rule Books

crossfire-high-resolution

 

As promised, the summer turned out to be a big one for me around here, starting with the three stories in the final two Dead Guns Press anthologies—Dames and Sin & Hangmen and Bullets.

When it looked like all was lost, I managed to get my foot in the door with a romance publisher (Solstice Publishing) with a short piece of erotica. A pen name was cobbled together and it was katy-bar-the-door.

These folks were willing to read some of the older stories penned under my name, Cinnamon Girl, Meet Me in Tulsa, A Murder of Crows and Walking to BabylonGoing Back to Dallas was a much newer story, but found a home there also.

Including the erotic / crime novella Pandora’s Boxthe summer saw three crime novellas along with my first novel length story, Walking to Babylon, get signed along with the pair of short stories.

I couldn’t have been happier.

In talking over the summer with the upstart publisher, 10th Rule Books, I managed to get a fourth crime novella signed…Crossfire.

The story was to be paired with Salinas crime slinger Todd Morr—the author of Jesus Saves, Satan Invests and If You’re Not One Percent.

I was stoked, as I’ve read some of Todd’s stuff over the last couple of years and looked forward to the pairing.

Somewhere along the way, 10th Rule decided to use another of my crime pieces which would leave Crossfire out of the running.

After a bit of back and forth, it was decided that Crossfire would go out into the world as a sort of calling card, a freebie. Something that folks could download to see if they had a taste for the stuff I was writing and the stuff they were putting out.

You can follow the links above to any of those published this far and I really hope that you’ll give Crossfire a try. It’s free, what have you got to lose?

And for the remainder of the year? A short psychological thriller type of thing, A Murder of Crows, will be out shortly in a Halloween anthology from Solstice Publishing along with my first novel length story, Walking to Babylon, by years end or early next.

I’m still working through a long western that was originally started back in 2010…we should get a look sometime next year?

There ain’t nothing fast about the world of publishing, huh?

Leave a Reply

