My Interview with Mercedes Fox

Meet Author Christopher Davis

Howdy my lovelies! Welcome back to Interview FoxSeat with guest author Christopher Davis

Christopher Davis is a central California native and grandfather of three rambunctious little ones. When not tending herd, he writes crime, western and horror fiction, erotica under the pseudonym of TJ Adams. His work has been published in both the U.S. and England.

If you use a Pen Name why did you choose it?  Most of my work is under my name. After writing a very accidental erotic short story and a longer erotic/crime novella, I took on the pseudonymcinnamon-girl-001 to keep from confusion anyone.

Why do you write?  I don’t know if I can really answer that one? I’ve been an avid reader since childhood and I guess writing is just an extension of that somehow?

I like to tell those that ask that I had a stroke after overdosing on cold medicine a doctor once prescribed, LOL, and came out of it with a desire to see my stories published.

When did you decide to become a writer?  It was probably the late 90’s when I first sat down with the idea of writing a story of my own.

How long does it usually take you to complete a book?  It depends on the story. Some I seem to struggle with and they can take months while others write themselves and pop out in a couple of weeks?

Do you have a special time to write or how is your day structured? No structure here. I’m just winging it and writing every chance that I get. This summer saw seven stories get signed—everything from short stories to novellas to my first novel length story to make the cut—I’ve been back and forth with editors for most of the past two months with very little writing being done.

How do you think you’ve evolved creatively?  In close to twenty years of stories…a ton. I get a kick out of reading backmeet-me-in-tulsa-001through stories from 2000 or so.

Do you listen to music or watch TV/movie while you write?  Not at all, although music plays a big part in the process of my writing. Usually metal, but old school country songs have inspired more than one of my stories.

What have you written?  I’ve written everything from crime flash fiction, to crime, western and horror short stories. I’ve been included in a handful of anthologies in both the U.S. and England and this summer will see four novella length stories come to life. A pair of 1930’s prohibition era crime stories Meet Me in Tulsa & Going Back to Dallas (not related), an erotic/crime Pandora’s Box and a hard hitting crime story Crossfire. My first novel length story to find a home should be out by the end of the year, Walking to Babylon. The story is a Las Vegas/mobster type of thing.

Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just seeing where an idea takes you?  I just wing it mostly. I’ve outlined on occasion, but feel tied to the thing looking back at me.

Is there any marketing technique you used that had an immediate impact on your sales figures?

No…you got any tips? MF: I wish I knew. So far this blog and meeting all the great authors out there has helped the most for myself and the authors I interview.

Any advice for aspiring authors?  Read everything pandoras-box-001and write what you want. Somewhere out there is an editor willing to give you a shot. Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do it!

Where do your ideas come from?  Life as it goes past.

What is the hardest thing about writing? Finding the time to do it.

What is your favorite movie or TV show? I’m not real big on watching television. If I do, it will be gee-whiz thing on the History Channel.

Which writers inspire you?  I read and I read a lot, but not the fiction that you would expect. OK, I’ve said it. I tend to read a lot of history. So I haven’t read the stories that most would consider the classics?

I do read a ton of great indie writers that we have on the scene today, Aidan Thorn, Chris Derrick and Chris Leek in the UK and guys like Timothy Desmond, Bill Baber, Matt Matilla, Todd Morr and David Jaggers here at home. There are some really good indie writers going and these guys should all be read.

What is the current book you are promoting?  The short story,Cinnamon Girl, has just hit the street with Pandora’s Box being released next week. The two crime novellas Meet Me in Tulsa and Going Back to Dallas are out at the end of the month. A short psychological thriller A Murder of Crowswill be in a Halloween anthology Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep, the crime novella Crossfire and the novel Walking to Babylon should be out by years end?

Do you have any formal education in creative writing? If not are you planning to go to school?  Not particularly, other than a couple of creative writing classes back in college. I do take writing classes as I find them both locally and online.

What is your next project?  An untitled 1930’s / 40’s Private Detective sort of thing.

Do you have any fur babies to brag about?  If you’re talking about animals? I do have my little terrier buddy Soapie. He’s got to be the most well-read dog in the country, and the best proofreaderwalking-to-babylon-001that I know of. His ideas are out of this world.

Who is your favorite author and which of their books is your favorite?  For me that would probably be Stephen King and his Dark Tower series.

Do you or have you sat down and read your book fresh off the presses as if it wasn’t yours? And if you did, what was it like? Doesn’t everyone? Of course I read my stories when they come out to see what a reader might find.

Do have a favorite car or truck model?  As a writer…any old hotrod car as I tend to write a sort of white-trash crime story from time to time.

Do you ever feel self-conscious when writing love/sex scenes?  Yeah…with only the one short story and one novella in the erotic genre, that’s taking some getting used to.

What do you think of traditional publishing vs. self-publishing?  I started out self-publishing using Amazon’s KDP and have been pursuing traditional publishing since 2012

What book are you currently reading or just finished?  Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

There ya have it folks! Many thanks Christopher! For more about Christopher and his work, follow the links below:

Leave a Reply

